kk317

My travels documentation

Melaka 27 to 29 June 2014

We were in Melaka for a very relaxed break from 27 June to 29 June 2014.   In fact, it was more of food trip this time. Went to Larkin Bus Terminal in Johor Bahru early morning to purchase the coach tickets to Melaka.

kkkl_bus

This is the KKKL super VIP coach we took from Larkin Terminal from JB to Melaka

jb_to melaka_kkkl

KKKL bus time schedule in Larkin terminal, JB

 

It was a very smooth ride without any jam in traffic or custom clearing. We arrived at Larkin before 8 am. I had intention to buy ticket from 707 bus group which is very popular. We were so early that the counter was not even opened. My second altermative was then to buy from KKKL bus group. Having done research, KKKL has positive reviews. I did not regret. The bus departure though not on the dot but 5 minutes later is acceptable. Super VIP seat at RM20.90

m_ss_int_bud_melaka

S&S International bus schedule in Melaka

 

m_707_bus

707 bus schedule in Melaka

m_causeway-link_melaka

Causeway Link bus schedule in Melaka

About 2 and half hours later, we arrived at Melaka Sentral. The KKKL bus driver was driving fast, I must say. As usual, we needed to purchase return tickets. No luck. All tickets were sold out. The only choice we had was to buy ticket back to Larkin. Again we bought the 9.30am trip tickets from KKKL. Same price at RM20.90.

 

Two years when I was here, there were many different private buses plying the domestic routes in Melaka. Now, all domestic buses were Paranoma. Buses were newer and better. Improvement. We took the bus 17 to reach Mahkota Parade shopping centre where I had booked our accommodation at Fenix Inn. Ticket at RM1.50.

m_panorama_bus

Panorama bus 17 from Melaka Sentral to Jonker Street and Mahkota Parade Shopping Mall

 

Accommodation

Fenix Inn is located at around Melaka Raya area.   Strategically situated with many nearby eateries and attractions. Two major shopping malls, Dataran Pahlawan and Mahkota Parade are within walking distance. RM155 per night for Superior Twin room with attached bathroom. No breakfast. Wifi was free and fast.

 

Fenix Inn - basic but conveniently located

Fenix Inn – basic but conveniently located

 

Room is basic but comfortable

Room is basic but comfortable

A functional bathroom

A functional bathroom

Food

Yes, food is the main draw for this trip. As far as I am concerned, I will try to seek the places as much as I can. I rely on public transport and leg power. Normally, I will not take cab.

 

Jonker 88 – The crowd here is overwhelming. Imagine the power of internet ! I am not sure why but I think the chendol( RM4) here is overrated. Yes, it is okay for me. I would love to try their Nyonya laksa but because I could not get a seat, I gave up the idea.

No. 88, Jalan Hang Jebat, 75200, Melaka, Melaka, 75200, Malaysia
+60 19-397 5665

 

Jonker 88 chendol is overrated

Jonker 88 chendol is overrated

 

This is the gula Melaka syrup used for the chendol.  Notice how clean the table.  Well maintained.

This is the gula Melaka syrup used for the chendol. Notice how clean the table. Well maintained.

Calanthe Café – famous for its 13 states flavor coffee.   I came here to try their Nyonya laksa. Not sure how to compare as I have not tried others. However, the coconut milk is quite thick.

 

 

Calanthe Art Café - a modern hip place

Calanthe Art Café – Jalan Hang Kasturi, 75200 Melaka, Malaysia +60 6-292 2960

 

Calanthe Café - nyonya laksa

Calanthe Art Café – nyonya laksa

 

Mods Café – hear about this café from reviews. Small and cosy place with lot of old and antique décor. Tried the latte and homemade cheese cake.  It is located at the quiet street off Jonker Street near the Chinese temple.

m_mods_cafe

Mods Café – Jalan Tokong, Melaka, Malaysia

This homemade cheese cake from Mods Café does not taste too creamy

This homemade cheese cake from Mods Café does not taste too creamy

 

Not sure are these souvenirs for sale

Not sure are these souvenirs for sale

 

Nadeje Café – many have positive reviews for this place. I must admit the original crepe was a delight. A nice place for an afternoon coffee and cake. Place is not big. May need to queue for seats.  Located at the corner of Mahkota Parade Shopping Mall facing the carpark.

nadeje_melaka

Nadeje Café – G-23 & 25, Jalan PM4, Plaza Mahkota, 75000, Melaka, Melaka, 75000, Malaysia +60 6-283 8750

 

These beautiful crepes and cakes are very tempting

These beautiful crepes and cakes are very tempting

 

Nadeje hazelnut cafe

Nadeje hazelnut cafe

 

Nadeje original crepe

Nadeje original crepe

 

Pak Putra restaurant – every time we are in Melaka, we will make sure to dine here. After 2 years lapse, I find food is consistently good. Famous for its nan and tandoori chicken. We tried the Bombay chicken this time. I liked the hot spicy chilli punch curry.

Pak Putra

Pak Putra Restaurant – Pak Putra – Jalan Laksamana 4, 75200 Melaka, Malaysia

Famous naan from Pak Putra

Famous naan from Pak Putra

Bombay chicken - like the hot spice

Bombay chicken – like the hot spice

 

This curry dal is a must ordered dish every time we are here

This curry dal is a must ordered dish every time we are here

 

Popiah ingredients prepared on the spot

Popiah ingredients prepared on the spot

Popian from street stall at Jonker Street

Popiah from street stall at Jonker Street

This is Rojak Buah - kind of fruit salad.  Found it along the overhead bridge toward Melaka Sentral

This is Rojak Buah – kind of fruit salad. Found it along the overhead bridge toward Melaka Sentral

 

Fried carrot cake from street stall along Jonker

Fried carrot cake from street stall along Jonker

 

Nyonya rice dumplings

Nyonya rice dumplings

 

Road side hawker stalls - a small setup at Jonker Street only in weekend evenings

Road side hawker stalls – a small setup at Jonker Street only on weekend evenings

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 comments on “Melaka 27 to 29 June 2014

  1. Ju
    February 1, 2015

    Hi! (can seem to catch your name anywhere, from this blog…)

    any chance you can remember WHERE/which booth or counter is KKKL situated at (at Larkin Bus Terminal)….

    I was recently at Larkin trying to get a bus to KL…

    the moment I got off Touters started harassing me…. and he even followed me ALL THE WAY to my Coach’s Counter (I always take ‘Transnasional’ to KL) and stood 2 CM AWAY FROM ME, ALMOST TOUCHING…while I purchased my usual ticket to KL. It was very imposing, the way he harassed, and I wanted to make sure I got away from that counter as soon as possible…

    however, I am new to taking a coach from Larkin to MELAKA and would really like to know where KKKL’s counter is (Transnasional do not have frequent buses to Melaka)…so I can just beeline to KKKL’s counter, get the tics and head to the platforms…. any chance you can remember, or even describe whether it was more to to ‘left or right’ part of Larkin Terminal so as to help me escape the Touters…. APPRECIATE!!!

    Julianne, astheearthsleeps@gmail.com

    • kk317
      February 4, 2015

      hi,
      Sorry for the late reply. Just came back from Taipei. Do not worry about the touters in Larkin terminal. It happens to me too. Just smile and ignore them. They will get the message eventually. If I am not wrong, KKKL counter is not on the front side. It is inside. BTW, I find 707 bus to Melaka very comfortable. The counter is near to Mac.

      If u need further info, u can write to me at kohk3@yahoo.com

      cheers….

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on July 3, 2014 by in travel.