kk317

A fine WordPress.com site

P O R T D I C K S O N (8/6/2001 TO 10/6/2001)

This is the first time I am visiting Port Dickson, about 35 km from Seremban.  This is also the first time I am using Olympus C1 digital camera (recently purchased – the cheapest in town I can find)  to capture the shots shown here.

This is the June school holiday period.  Together with my wife, Joy and daughter, Jia Hwei, we boarded a super VIP coach from Lankin bus terminal, JB heading toward Seremban.  The coach ticket cost RM22.  I had advanced booked the coach tickets and also the train tickets for returning home.  Train ticket for adult from Seremban to Singapore is RM30 and child is RM19. 

We took the bus to Seremban from Larkin bus terminal, Johor Bahru

We took the bus to Seremban from Larkin bus terminal, Johor Bahru

After about 4 hours of comfortable ride, we reached Seremban town.  Immediately after we alighted, a taxi came along.  We told the taxi driver we were going to Costa Rica hotel.  “No problem,” said the driver.  Unfortunately, he apparently did not know where was Costa Rica located.  Neither did us.  So it was a merry go-around along Port Dickson.  Eventually after an hour for a 30 minute drive, we reached our destination.  I paid the driver RM30 (standard price) and we parted amicably despite a little ‘hiccup’.

Port Dickson Bus Terninal where we alighted.  From here, we took a taxi to our hotel, Costa Rica

Port Dickson Bus Terninal where we alighted. From here, we took a taxi to our hotel, Costa Rica

Costa Rica Hotel is located within walking distance from the Port Dickson town or centre point.  It is a simple hotel with a small swimming pool which was overcrowded with the weekend guests.  It was almost like having a carnival.  It was just too packed. As a matter of fact, many of the hotels along the beach stretch of Port Dickson were fully booked over the weekends.  I booked two nights at RM168 per night for a twin Deluxe room with 2 breakfasts.

Costa Rica Hotel Resort where we stayed for 2 nights.

Costa Rica Hotel Resort where we stayed for 2 nights.

The pool was very crowded as the beach was not ideal for water activiity

The pool was very crowded as the beach was not ideal for water activiity

View of the pool from top

View of the pool from top

Not too sure why, I had a severe headache after we checked in not too long later.  Was it because of the long ride ?  Hunger ?  Heat ?  The small medicine box that I always bring along for trips and hardly use it, became useful now.  Normally, I will not take any medicine but this time I took a Panadol pill due to the headache.  I also lost my appetite.  It was a early night for me.  It is terrible to be sick when you are on vacation.

Fortunately the next morning, I was well and up again.  After the breakfast at Coastline Cafe (where efficiency was fully utilised for the massive crowd) , we decided to visit Port Dickson town.  From Costa Rica, it took us about 15 minutes to reach there.  Like most towns in Malaysia, modernisation has taken place.  There will be stretch of old buildings or ancient shophouses with modern shopping complexes springing up every where.  It just reminds me of the good old 60s where I grew up – the old buildings, the roadside food stalls – you still see them in certain parts of Malaysia.

The street in Seremban reminded me during the 1960s in Singapore.  A little nostalgic trip down memory lane...

The street in Seremban reminded me during the 1960s in Singapore. A little nostalgic trip down memory lane…

Another street in Seremban.  It was very hot.  Somehow the heat had muted my enthusiasm.

Another street in Seremban. It was very hot. Somehow the heat had muted my enthusiasm.

Entering the coffee shop at the old building reminded me as a kid when I followed my father to a coffee shop back home.

Entering the coffee shop at the old building reminded me as a kid when I followed my father to a coffee shop back home.

From the town, there are two bus services that will ply to Seremban town.  Aircon and express Cityliner bus number 72 and non-aircon number 67.  We decided to take bus 72 to tour Seremban.  Adult fare is RM2.50 and child is RM1.30.  The journey took about an hour along the old road.

The bus stopped at the Bus Station next to Terminal 1 shopping complex (probably the largest in Seremban).  It was very crowded.  The heat was unbearable.  No wonder Terminal 1 was so packed.  I reckon the air-conditioning was a welcome relief. 

 

Terminal 1 shopping mall in Seremban

Terminal 1 shopping mall in Seremban

We walked around the town sightseeing the varieties and enjoying the food but not the heat.  I noticed that wanton (minced pork and prawn dumpling) noodle and laksa are sold almost in every coffee shop we passed by.  The wanton noodle sold here is different from we get in Singapore.  Here, it is with black soy sauce.  Back home, it is red chilli sauce.  Verdict – both are different but equally nice.

Very quickly, it was time to go home.  I booked a cab from Costa Rica to Seremban Railway Station for RM30 at telephone 6474702.  If you use the hotel transport, you need to pay RM50 for the same 30 minutes ride..  We arrived early at the station before the our departure time at 12:34 pm.  That gave me some time to take a few shots of the place.

Train station at Seremban.  A few minutes walk away from Terminal 1 shopping mall.

Train station at Seremban. A few minutes walk away from Terminal 1 shopping mall.

KTM train back to Singapore.  Quite  a comfortable ride.

KTM train back to Singapore. Quite a comfortable ride.

The train arrived promptly with the announcement in Malay telling passengers to get ready to board.  I wonder how are those passengers who do not understand Malay !  Despite the heat outside, the cabins of the train were comfortably cool.  It was another five and half hours ride without worrying about going to the toilet, so to speak.  We could save another 45 minutes if not for the waiting at Rehau Station.  This was to enable for an oncoming train to pass.  What a useless waste of time ! 

Seremban lacks the attractions that can be found in Malacca.  The beach at Port Dickson is not much to talk about.  However, I am not disappointed.  I did not come to Port Dickson for the beach.  I came because I wanted to come[]

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 4, 2013 by in travel.
